The Internet and @Forsa

I started using the internet back during 56.6k modems and Yahoo was the only search engine that was available. My family eventually graduated to DSL, and I moved up from chatrooms and AIM’s to playing Counter-Strike original in LAN parties or net servers. Eventually I tried my first MMORPG of FFXI and played that for 7 years, off and on trying other MMO’s to see if anything else was interesting in the field. I kept going back to FFXI because I like the community and friends I had made. Over the years social networking starting making a surge and I made my Myspace pages and livejournals though not much of words to say for blogging I left those avenues behind and stuck with Myspace until the king of Social Networks came to the forefront and I was caught in the Facebook web. Now we as Internet saavy users are in threat of losing the open global world of the internet, like China, within the “freedom of speech” capitol of the world the Great USA. I can only hope that SOPA and its sister bill get scrapped so that I may continue to enjoy this great communication, and knowledge tool that has been given us.

3 thoughts on “The Internet and @Forsa

  1. 56.6k modems aren’t a bad place to start in my opinion. I’m pretty sure my first experiences were with 14.4k modems and it took ages to get DSL at home. I don’t suppose you ever had internet/cyber cafes in your area? I figure if you had the capabilities to LAN at home that you wouldn’t need to go, but I have fond memories of playing Counter-Strike at netcafes when they were popular.

    What versions of Counter-Strike did you play? Do you still? I think I quit right when riot shields came out. I want to say that was around 1.3.

    What server, job(s), nation, and race did you play in FFXI? I had the exact same love affair with that game. Always going back and forth between FFXI and other MMOs.

    • No internet cafes near where I lived. The LAN parties were always held at a friends house who worked for NEC, as a computer tech, so he had all the new tech.

      CS I liked the original don’t know what version it was that I last played but was about 2004.

      On FFXI I was on Siren, San’Doria Elvaan DRK.

  2. Thanks for posting this John. I enjoyed reading about how your use of the internet has changed with advances in technology. You seem to have been paying close attention to the emerging trends.

    I look forward to hearing about where how you think things will continue to evolve in the coming years.

    I hope you enjoy this class and find it useful as you continue to chart the course for your online life.

Leave a Reply

